Chromebook?

Been considering these since they came out... I primarily use my laptop for online stuff and never dip into storage that much (I have an external for that.) So it seems like the ideal set up for my work computer.

I've gotten mixed reviews from people, was wondering if anyone had an opinion on them either way? What is the UI like on the Chrome OS? Any major let downs compared to windows and Mac? Hardware solid or is it flimsy?

I have been using a Chrome Book for a few years now. I use it primarily for surfing the internet, checking up on Lyla.com, checking and responding to e-mails.

Chrome books do not have a CD/DVD ROM. At least mine does not. But it does have a SD Card Reader.

If you have the Chrome browser on your main computer. It automatically sinks everything with the Chrome book's browser. So if someone other than you has access to your main computer, they know where you have been.

You can only use google apps on it.

• Like 1

Loving the tech talk around here!

I'm not much of a windows program person so Works, and the like, won't be missed. At most I use word pad but Google docs or sending myself and email works just as well.

I prefer Firefox but chrome is what I regularly use on my old lappie and my mobile devices so its not as though I'm unfamiliar.

I'm concerned mainly about the feel of the user interface and the skin of the operating system. I struggle with changes and it was ultimately why I didn't just go with Linux so it may be hard to adjust to something new. I still miss Windows XP!

Maybe I will see if I can check one out in a store or at a library first... Seems like an excellent first step. Most of my privacy concerns are assuaged by the fact that the only living beings with access to my computers, mobile devices and electronics don't have opposable thumbs and can be bribed with liver. Lol!

Thanks for the help everyone, feel free to keep chiming in if something springs to mind!