As many of you know i have been living in Montreal now for the last couple of months. I love it! The city, the people and Joie de vivre.... yes there is a language barrier but most people do speak English. Today while at the grocery the young man packing my groceries said to me,"you don't like french?" This was because they were explaining about a free bag of carrots i was supposed to receive...{really didn't matter to me] that they didn't have. Anyway i told him "sure i do...I'm still learning and when you speak fast I'm lost,lol" he was very sweet and we both laughted..

today on the phone a gentleman called to make an appointment..again i was lost...so i told him in French that i don't speak French very well..he hung up on me...now this could take place anywhere in the world...be it Spanish,Italian,Chinese...and English of course..even capebretoneze...I'm saying this because one must remember that if a person is visiting a city they are most times there because they want to be...I'm willing to learn the language wherever i am even if all i can say is a few words ..I'm trying..i love languages and French and Spanish just happen to be my favorite...even if i don't understand what your saying just purrrrr and I'll know what you mean...;-)

kisses,

Emma A

Guest s******ecan****
.even if i don't understand what your saying just purrrrr and I'll know what you mean...;-)

kisses,

Emma A

Emma's purr must be a universal language8)

I lived in Montreal for a year and worked at my my sisters restaurant. I did manage to learn a little although I did have one embarrassing moment. A customer was asking if we had any champagne and I thought he wanted mushrooms. Fortunately for me he understood English and told me what he was looking for. I was a little embarassed.:oops:

Dear Emma A,